Rose A. Freeman Memorial Award

Do you work with a great TA that you think should be recognized? Consider nominating them for the Rose A. Freeman Memorial Award!

About the Award

The award was established in September 2006 by Dr. John G. Freeman, B.A. (1976), B.Ed. (1977), MEd (1990), PhD (1997), in memory of his mother Rose A. Freeman. It is given to a graduate student Teaching Assistant in the Faculty of Education who directly contributes to the learning experience of Bachelor of Education (Con.Ed., B.Ed., Dip.Ed.) students through exhibiting outstanding commitment to the value of learning, availability to students, good organizational skills, and motivation.  

Nomination Procedure

Con.Ed., B.Ed., Dip.Ed. students and professors may nominate a TA for this award by submitting a letter in support of the nominee to Adjudication takes place in April.

Complete nomination packages include:

  • A minimum of two letters, one of which must be from a professor.
  • The following shall be included in the nomination document:
    1. name of the TA
    2. courses taught by him/her
    3. details why the TA is being nominated as deserving of the award

Selection and Grading of the Award

Selection is made by the Graduate Studies and Research Committee in the Faculty of Education. The committee will review all nomination packages and determine Award winning TA(s) by taking into consideration all information received from both students and professors.

All decisions are final. There will be a maximum of two awards per academic year.

Past Winners

2020 - 2021 Sunaira Tejpar
2019 - 2020 Elizabeth Sharp
2018 - 2019 Jacob DesRochers
2017 - 2018 Eleftherios Soleas
2016 - 2017 Michael Pitblado
2015 - 2016 Suparna Roy
2014 - 2015 Pamela McDonald
2013 - 2014 Chi Yan Lam
2012 - 2013 Sean Cousins
2011 - 2012 Kezia Cooke-Brown
2010 - 2011 Peter Bowers
2010 - 2011 King Luu
2009 - 2010 Terry Bridges
2009 - 2010 Shireen VanBuskirk
2008 - 2009 Chris DeLuca
2008 - 2009 Holly Ogden
2008 - 2009 Michelle Searle
2007 - 2008 Natalie Norbraten
2006 - 2007 Heather O'Reilly