Faculty Board

The Faculty Board has the following responsibilities:

  1. to recommend to the Senate programs of study leading to degrees or diplomas, and the conditions of admission;
  2. to decide upon applications for admission for change of programs, subject to the regulations of the Senate;
  3. to submit to the Senate names of candidates for both earned and honorary degrees and diplomas;
  4. to arrange the timetable for classes and to edit the Faculty Calendar, subject to the approval of Senate;
  5. to control registrations, subject to the regulations of the Senate;
  6. to deal with course failures;
  7. to determine policies regarding academic supervision over students;
  8. to make such recommendations to the Senate as the Faculty may deem expedient for promoting the efficiency of the University as a whole and the Faculty of Education in particular;
  9. to award Faculty of Education scholarships, medals and prizes;
  10. to make such regulations as may be necessary for the exercise of the function of the Faculty.

For more information, please see the  Faculty Board Constitution (1.11 MB)

The Faculty Board consists of the Dean and Associate Deans, the Education Registrar, academic staff, the Education Librarian and the professional library staff, student representatives and staff representatives.

Academic staff are defined as full-time faculty members and instructors responsible for planning and teaching of courses, and evaluating students within any course as authorized by the Faculty of Education leading to Queen’s University degrees or diplomas. Furthermore, The Principal, the Vice Principals, the University Registrar and the Dean of Graduate Studies are ex officio members of the Faculty Board.

The terms of office of Faculty members on Standing Committees are three years. Terms may be reduced or extended by one year. The exceptions to normal term length are those of Promotion, Renewal & Tenure and the Appointments Committee where the term is one year.

The Faculty of Education representative on Senate serves for a period of three years. If the situation arises that a representative on Senate must step down for a period longer than 6 months of their 3-year term, the Faculty will elect a replacement member to fill the duration of that term.

The current Chair of the Faculty Board is Lee Airton and the Secretary is Lisa Tugnette.


Items for the Agendas should be sent (in copy/ready form and electronically) to Lisa Tugnette. If you are making a report that you would like included in the Minutes please forward these to the Secretary in advance or following the meeting. Meetings will be held in the Vernon Ready Room unless specified elsewhere. Please feel free to bring your lunch. 

Note that Agenda Items are generally due by 3:30 pm 10 days before the meeting. 


Monday, August 23, 2021, 1 pm | Agenda Items due by August 13

Monday, October 18, 2021, 1 pm | Agenda Item due by October 8 

Monday, November 22, 2021, 1 pm | Agenda items due by November 12

Monday, January 24, 2022, 1 pm | Agenda items due by January 14

Monday, February 28, 2022 at 1 pm | Agenda items due by February 18

Monday, April 25, 2022 at 1 pm | Agenda items due by April 15

Monday, May 9, 2022 at 1 pm | Agenda items due by April 29 

Monday, June 20, 2022 at 1 pm | Agenda items due by June 10 

Monday, August 1, 2022 at 1 pm | Agenda Items due by August 5